Baby steps.

Standard

FullSizeRenderIMG_3707

My last post was titled Full Steam Ahead.Full Stop. This one is called Baby Steps. How do those go together? Let me explain. My photography project for EC & I is going well, but is certainly getting interrupted by life- sick kids and sleep deprivation, however since I am so interested in learning I am still working on it through the sludge of life! I learned a lot of little things during the last few days.

Baby Step: charging batteries

A tiny, but crucial, baby step last night was when I went to turn my camera on and it would not turn on because the batteries were dead. Sounds like an easy fix- charge the batteries, but because my new camera came with a battery grip to hold the batteries, I actually had to figure out how to open it and get the batteries out!

 

Baby Step: experimenting with ISO

A throwback to the old days of film photography is ISO speed. I do remember buying boxes of film at different ISO’s. 100 for bright, sunny days and at the time 400 for more indoor shots. Too bad that it was rare that you only took photos in one location for a whole roll of film.

 

I experimented with changing the ISO settings on my new (to me) camera. It was a very warm, but cloudy, day for February in Saskatchewan.

ISO 100:

ISO 100 Willow (2)

ISO 200:

ISO 200 Willow (2)

ISO 400:

ISO 400 Willow (2)

ISO 800:

ISO 800 Willow (2)

ISO 1600:

ISO 1600 Willow (2)

Baby Step: downloading RAW files

These are not the original photos because I made copies in .jpg format to insert them into WordPress more easily. I had shot in RAW format. In order to even get my computer to open the files, I had to download a decoder from Microsoft so it would read them.

I am not sure if I really see a huge difference in the picture quality of the photos above, but that could be because of the change in format and also because it was a cloudy day.

Here is a video about the differences in ISO:

Please let me know if you have any feedback or tips!

3 thoughts on “Baby steps.

  1. Luke Braun

    Great stuff Andrea. I used to shoot film for a long time but finally switched to a DSLR. I love the versatility but it does take some practice to learn how to use shutter speed, ISO and aperture. Keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. Ah, the good old days of sending in your film for processing and getting excited that you managed to get 5 good photos out of a roll of 24, lol! There are lots of great online resources for learning photography (have you tried http://camerasim.com/apps/original-camerasim/) The trickiest part for me is getting good indoor pics with natural light. It doesn’t help that my kids don’t stay still long enough to get a good shot most of the time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

